In Ron Sider’s book, “Rich Christians in an Age of Hunger”, he cites some very disturbing facts:

“In 1996, the World Health Organization reported that an annual increase in preventative care of 75 cents per person in the Third World could save 5 billion lives every year. That would take less than $3 billion. Surely the people of wealthier nations can find $3 billion to save 5 million people. The National Center for Health Statistics reported that people in the United States spend between $30 and $50 billion each year on diets and related expenditures to reduce their caloric intake”.

This is the epitomy of irony. It is so wrong. So messed up. The world is a tumbling ball of different worldviews, belief systems, and degrees of psychosis. Different colors and smells, different sounds and sights. A mish-mash of truth and lies so tightly intertwined. To find the truth and separate it from the crap is a perilous and highly unappealing quest. Most don’t even bother trying anymore. Just take it all at face value, believe what the world tells you, and don’t bother to think for yourself. The colors and sounds are so mesmermizing. They whir and twirl, bounce and jerk. I am drawn to the labels of “open-minded”, “cool”, and “unique”. The whirling ball tells me that I will find acceptance and fulfillment in it. But slowly I begin to feel disillusioned. I am a little woozy, and am experiencing motion sickness from the constantly changing ride. I think that I am desiring something else, something not readily available on this ride. I yell out “stop the ride”, clamber off, and throw up in the trash can. What is it that I seek? The whirling ball of colors, sights, sounds and smells has not fulfilled me. Absolute Truth? Is there such a thing as that old archaic notion once taught to me in my youth? There is. Yes, I believe it, even though the whirring ball has told me otherwise.

