That’s what prayer feels like to me sometimes. Of all the areas of the Christian life, this is the one that has always confused me and caused me anguish. I don’t really “get it”. What is supposed to look like? How can I be more motivated to pray more often? What should it feel like? What should I say? What kind of response should I expect?

I have a feeling that perhaps if I practiced the discipline of silence and solitude more often, I would find prayer more natural. I did enjoy it when I was in Tanzania, and we would have afternoons set aside specifically for solitude. I think that my North American lifestyle really doesn’t allow for time with God. That’s partly why Chris and I are in the midst of changing our lifestyles now. We will both be working less, and intentionally avoiding the plague of “busyness”. I am looking forward to the year to come very much for this reason.

