This Christmas I was reminded of a cheesy-but-true lesson – love is all you need.
Love Mug
I was also reminded how amazingly blessed I am.  The day after Christmas we saw one of the ladies in our townhouse complex that we know is a fellow Christian.  She’s a single mom to two young boys.  The only gift she was able to afford to give her youngest son was a Bible and a special case, and he absolutely loved it.  When one of the boys was asked by my husband what he got for Christmas, he said “Santa brought me a Nintendo Wii!  Chris replied with “cool! me too!”, which was met with a “but you’re old” expression on his face.  “Yeah,” the mom said in a lowered voice, “and I don’t have a clue who Santa is”.  Someone had given them a Nintendo Wii anonymously.  I realized in that moment how selfish and stuff-driven I can sometimes be.  I don’t want to be that way, and I am always asking God to keep my conscience sharp and attuned to his will for me.  I got alot of gifts this year, given to me by people who love me.  Nothing terribly extravagant, but far more than many people in this city, and especially around the world.  In the end, though, it’s just stuff, and I wouldn’t be sad if I lost it all tomorrow.  I have the love of my (two) families, my awesome friends, my incredible husband, and most importantly, the Almighty God who created me.
Really, love is all you need.
