When I was a little girl, I loved to ‘play house’. My friends and I would spend hours in the basement, in the forts/’houses’ we’d build, and pretend to be ‘mommy’ to our little baby dolls. We’d dress them in cute outfits, feed them, and take them ‘shopping’.

One thing I don’t recall ever doing with my dolls, however, is jiggling and walking up and down the hall pretending they were screaming and fussing and refusing to sleep. Or spitting up and drooling all over me. Or needing my attention most when I really just wanted a break. For some reason those things never happened in my fantasy mom world.

Motherhood is certainly not how I pictured it, that’s for sure. Sure, the good outweighs the bad overall, but some days are just really difficult.

And that’s where I’m at today.

