thank-you-image

You know how they say that thank-you notes are of UTMOST IMPORTANCE and simply the HEIGHT OF GOOD MANNERS? Well, I agree – it’s nice to say thank-you for a gift that you’ve received. It is good manners.

However…

(Please don’t start throwing stones just yet)

I don’t think it’s quite as HUGE as some people make it out to be…

My husband grew up being taught that you have to give a thank-you note to anyone (including relatives) who gives you a gift of any sort (including Christmas, birthdays, etc). It was pretty extreme, and people would actually get offended if they didn’t receive their thank-you note on time (which makes my inner brat want to say “well then I’m not writing one at all, and if you don’t like it then I don’t really like you! sothereHA).

I, on the other hand, grew up never having written a thank-you note for any of those things. It just wasn’t expected in my family. We weren’t very proper, I guess.

Anyway, my point is that I’m actually a little torn about the whole thing. I think thank-you notes are lovely and important and that yeah, you should write one when you get a gift (within reason)… and yet I also think there should be some understanding. I don’t think it’s necessary to write a thank-you note to close family members (but if you wanna, then go for it), but they are kinda important on occasions such as weddings, showers, and extra-special acts of kindness/gifts.

Also, ahem… I think there should perhaps be some, uh, grace (*looks hopeful and little bit sheepish*)…

…for those mommies who have babies and then don’t get around to writing thank-you notes for gifts that are received after the baby is born until the baby is 6 months old…

Oops.

(Who has time to write 50 thank-you notes while changing explosive poo diapers and nursing 10 times a day? Oh, I know – mommies who are so much more organized than I could ever hope to be. Dang.)

They were mailed 3 days ago. I’m so happy to cross that off of my to-do list!

What do you (yes, YOU, the lurker, sitting there reading this on your computer) think? What kind of thank-you note tradition did you grow up with? Am I the only one who’s ever written (very) late thank-you note after having a baby?

