When I was little, I was always afraid of the dark.

In my own house, at night, wondering if there was a “bad guy” hiding in the shadows, ready to kill and maim me and then move on to my family. I think they call that an active imagination…

Ok, ok, small confession: I am kinda still afraid of the dark sometimes. Even as an adult. There’s just an eerie feeling of disorientation that I’m not accustomed to… the whole ‘not knowing what’s around’ thing, not being in control really freaks me out. Any other control freaks out there? *raising eyebrows at you (aren’t we all control freaks to some degree?)*.

(Side note: this is why I can’t watch any of those freaky crime shows. I actually have nightmares if I watch them. I shelter myself from them. Actually, I don’t really think they’re good things to be filling our minds with anyway, but that’s a whole ‘nother blog post…)

(I should really stop with the parentheses or I’m gonna forget what I’m actually trying to say…)

Ahem. As I was saying… trying to set up a blog and do all this technology stuff has made me feel like I’m stumbling around in the darkness. I’m trying to do a little more than just the “add new post” thing. I want to prettify it, make it snazzy, and maybe even have my own domain name. Ooooh scary!

(Heck, I even jumped in the deep end today by signing up for twitter. I don’t really know what it is… something to do with birds or something I guess…)

(Sorry, couldn’t resist. I talk in parentheses. I just do, ok?)

The problem is, I don’t know the first thing about all that stuff. Nothing, nada, zilch. (Incidentally, zilch is a funny word. I wonder if it’s a real word, or just slang. Either way, it amuses me).

But instead of shying away because I’m stumbling around in the dark, I’ve decided to be brave, and try to shed a little light on my situation.

11_12_53-electric-light-bulb_web

I think I’m going to start by learning a little HTML.

Wow, did I actually just use a techie term in a somewhat coherent way?

I guess I’m already learning.

What new thing have you learned lately? Was it scary and nerve-wracking?

